H.H.

 

I finally gave myself time for reading. And again I realized that I do that way too seldomly, because the fascination of diving into an other, unknown world always leaves me behind with such great feelings. This time I read Hermann Hesse´s novel “Narcissus and Goldmund”, and listened to the “Steppenwolf” audio book.

For rainy afternoons, for dreamers and seekers, for those searching for answers but not being able to put them into words – Hermann Hesse never failed to impress me.

The quote above says: “You can only truly live if you lose yourself.”

 

 

“natures of your kind, with strong, delicate senses, the soul-oriented, the dreamers, poets, lovers are almost always superior to us creatures of the mind. You take your being from your mothers. You live fully; you were endowed with your strength of love, the ability to feel. Whereas we creatures of reason, we don’t live fully; we live in an arid land, even though we often seem to guide and rule you. Yours is the plentitude of life, the sap of the fruit, the garden of passion, the beautiful landscape of art. Your home is the earth; ours is the world of ideas. You are in danger of drowning in the world of the senses; ours is the danger of suffocating in an airless world. You are an artist; I am a thinker.”                 ― Hermann Hesse, Narcissus and Goldmund

 

“Die Naturen von deiner Art, die mit den starken und zarten Sinnen, die Beseelten, die Träumer, Dichter, Liebenden, sind uns andern, uns Geistmenschen, beinahe immer überlegen. Eure Herkunft ist eine mütterliche. Ihr lebet im Vollen, euch ist die Kraft der Liebe und des Erlebenkönnens gegeben. Wir Geistigen, obwohl wir euch andere häufig zu leiten und zu regieren scheinen, leben nicht im Vollen, wir leben in der Dürre. Euch gehört die Fülle des Lebens, euch der Saft der Früchte, euch der Garten der Liebe, das schöne Land der Kunst. Eure Heimat ist die Erde, unsere die Idee. Eure Gefahr ist das Ertrinken in der Sinnenwelt, unsere das Ersticken im luftleeren Raum. Du bis Künstler, ich bin Denker. Du schläfst an der Brust der Mutter, ich wach in der Wüste. Mir scheint die Sonne, dir scheinen Mond und Sterne, deine Träume sind von Mädchen, meine von Knaben …“       – Hermann Hesse, Narziß und Goldmund

 

Endlich nahm ich mir einmal wieder Zeit zum Lesen. Und wieder einmal wurde mir klar, dass ich das viel zu selten tat, denn die Faszination in eine andere, unbekannte Welt hinab zu tauchen hinterlässt unglaubliche Gefühle in mir. Dieses Mal las ich Hermann Hesses Roman “Narziß und Goldmund” und hörte mir das “Steppenwolf” Hörbuch an.

Ob an regnerischen Nachmittagen, ob für Träumer, für jene, die auf der Suche sind, für jene, die Antworten brauchen – zumindest mich hat Hermann Hesse immer berührt.

Leave a Reply

