The Garage / Die Werkstatt

Right in my new neighbourhood is one of my favourite places here in Riga. 

More or less three years ago I got to know the guys from Rīgas Darbnīca, a bike and furniture fixing and building garage, an unofficial music studio, artist meeting point, and Latvian language school (well, at least for me – that one just comes along). I spent uncountable hours in that gloomy messy place, drew, emptied my emotional trash into the mechanics´ hearts, and got hangovers from too much beer and Balzams. 

Sitting right there, surrounded by twenty people that are doing their works, I can concentrate best and find my peace to take a pen and paper. 

//

Direkt nebenan in der Nachbarschaft befindet sich einer meiner liebsten Plätze hier in Riga.

Vor etwa drei Jahren habe ich die Leute von der Rīgas Darbnīca kennengelernt, eine Fahrrad- und Möbelreparaturwerkstatt, ein inoffizielles Musikstudio, Künstlertreffpunkt, und Lettischschule (zumindest für mich, das geht mit allem einher). In der dunklen, chaotischen Halle verbrachte ich unzählige wunderbare Stunden, malte, habe all meinen emotionalen Müll in Mechanikerherzen abgeladen, und zug mir schlimme Kater von zu viel Bier und Balzams zu.

Wenn ich dort sitze, von zwanzig anderen arbeitenden Menschen umgeben, finde ich meine Ruhe und kann gelassen zu Stift und Papier greifen.

Leave a Reply

